The Yoga of Transformation at the Yellow Barn – Day 10

This blog is the tenth in a series that invites you to experience the Yellow Barn’s 10-day Yoga of Transformation, guided by Gary (Anandasagar) Majchrzak, a nationally renowned yoga teacher and instructor.

By Polly Meyer

ImageToday was the tenth and final day of our Ten-Day Transformation Yoga at the Yellow Barn. It was honestly one of the hardest things I ever put myself through, and it required being more disciplined than I ever thought myself capable of possessing. It was hard for all of us who participated. The instructor, Gary Anandasgar, promised that we would get out of this practice what we put into it. If we did the work, we would be transformed on many different levels. The man delivered on his promises.

The yoga Gary brought us through opened our minds and bodies, removing some of the binds that blocked our potential. The 10-day practice made us confront our limits in order to transcend them. It gave us a deeper self-understanding that brought newness and interest to the way we perceived things. The poses and pranayamas involved constant honing and refining which gave us a glimpse of our true essence. We were our own sculptors, bringing out the true form in the stone as we carefully and mindfully chipped away the unwanted and unneeded rock and grit. It gave us vitality and a sense of grace and well-being. Personally, I began to trust more in my higher self.

Our bodies developed a greater flexibility. Gary constantly reminded us that the essence of our poses was not to attain how they looked in books, but to be aware of how we worked with our limits. It wasn’t important how far we got into a pose, but how we approached the yogic process. We were instructed not to view the pose as an end to be achieved, but to view it as a tool to explore and open our bodies. Ironically, instead of using the body to assume the pose, we used our pose to open our bodies. Progress and opening came more naturally at the end than it did in the early days of our Transformation Yoga.  I learned to play the edge of pain – in fact, I think we all did. Finding that place in the pose where we weren’t afraid, but near where the fear comes in when the pose becomes intense. We would hold the pose, deepen our breath, trust the intelligence of our bodies, and wait for the relaxation to come and open us.

We discovered the balance between control and surrender, between pushing and relaxing, channeling our energy and letting it go. Before this Yoga Transformation class, it was my tendency to push in yoga. Now I learned the importance of letting go, relaxing, and enjoying the surrender. It gave me room to focus on the way I moved, held my body, what I was thinking, and how I focused. The essence of this class was to transform. So we focused our attention – attention to our breath, our body’s messages, where to focus our energy, and even to the quality of our attention. These were essential to what we achieved as a group in our last class together. Our breath got us out of our minds and into our bodies, bringing a grace and sensuality to poses that would have been impossible if our minds were in control. On this last day we remained in each pose for 27 minutes. My mind is still boggled by it.

The pranayamas generated an uncommon energy within us. We captured it, changed it, created more of it, and moved it through our bodies. We had great energy, yet we were very focused and calm. This in itself is noteworthy.

And I don’t know how to explain this really, but I feel like this yoga unhooked me from a few things I was holding onto emotionally. I’m not talking about a release, but an un-hook. Its like the process of confronting and nudging my body’s limits and blocks opened my mind. The transformation not only moved me from some things I didn’t like about myself, but also from pleasures and habits I was attached to – like sleeping in late. I am struck by how much I enjoy watching the night turn into day. I don’t think I’ll continue to get up before dawn, but I have no desire at all to sleep in as late as I was accustomed to.

This last day of our Transformation Yoga made me savor each pose, each pranayama, each soul in the room, each candle lit, each tingling sensation, each shared experience, each empowering moment. I already feel the absence of its presence, knowing that we won’t meet in this sacred space tomorrow at dawn.  The Yellow Barn is truly one of the very best Yoga Centers in the Twin Cities. And it was an honor to travel on this remarkable journey with the courageous souls in this small class. Through Gary’s teachings, it gave me a deeper awareness of my own participation in the evolutionary process of myself.

About PollyMeyer

I studied everything about being on-camera to promote myself as a successful on-camera Commercial Talent, TV Host, and Presenter. I studied with top experts in the media. I further developed these on-camera skills as a Video Producer coaching and directing business professionals on how to make a connection with the camera, and to come across the lens as Confident, Knowledgeable, and Likable. I developed soundbites and message content for corporate videos and presentations. I became an expert in media training. My passion is showing my clients and students how develop their ON-CAMERA Media skills STRATEGICALLY to GET RESULTS! I created IMAGE ON CAMERA, a boutique media training partnership. We direct you on camera in our Minneapolis studio. We walk you through from start to finish. We coach you in developing a dynamic on-camera presence, help you get clear on your message, rehearse your soundbites, structure your videos, plan your media strategy, and rehearse interview techniques. Everything is filmed so you'll quickly get instant replay and feedback. We have a full service video production studio and can film and edit your videos for you! If you're wanting to shoot your own videos, we can train you in the art of Social Media Prep. CONNECT WITH ME IF... ✓ You're a business owner or entrepreneur and would like to feel MORE CONFIDENT, MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE, and MORE DYNAMIC in front of the camera and when giving presentations. ✓ You're looking for a media trainer for your organization or association, a workshop or a keynote speaker for your conference. ✓ You're wanting a coach to walk with you from start to finish. ✓ You offer professional services (i.e. coach, consultant, lawyer, accountant, financial services etc.) & want to be known as the LEADING AUTHORITY in your community. We can show you how to be seen as this authority using video. Contact me for a custom solution to all of your ON-CAMERA, MEDIA, and VIDEO PRODUCTION needs: PollyMeyer@ImageOnCamera.com
This entry was posted in change, comfort zone, courage, enlarge, Gary Anandasagar Majchrza, Heart Chakra, living large, polly meyer, spirit, Transformational Yoga, wisdom, woman, Woman of Substance, Yellow Barn, Yoga, Yom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

