The Yoga of Transformation at the Yellow Barn – Day 1

This blog is the first in a series that invites you to experience the Yellow Barn’s 10-day Yoga of Transformation, guided by Gary (Anandasagar) Majchrzak, a nationally renowned yoga teacher and instructor.

.Image   Today is my first yoga experience at the Yellow Barn. Located in Mendota Heights, the beautifully renovated two-level barn is tucked away and hidden from the hustle of the city. I arrive here at 4:50 AM to begin the 10-day Yoga of Transformation. Getting up this early was quite a stretch for me (no pun intended). I am not a morning person, although I wish I were. And I usually begin my day with a strong mug of coffee. Like the majority of yogis present this morning, I got little sleep the night before, constantly looking at my clock to make sure I didn’t sleep through the alarm. It is still dark outside when I arrive with my yogi friend, Sally. We make our way quickly to the barn’s entrance and are warmly greeted by the glowing fireplace right inside the door. The fireplace and lit candles are the only source of light on this main level, and it is downright beautiful.

We remove our shoes and silently make our way up the stairs to join the other yogis. The yoga room is incredibly spacious. The old wooden floor reflects the light from the many candles and the small twinkle lights that hang in the rafters. The windows are large and I can still see the stars in the dark morning sky. I am struck with a feeling of sweet reverence.

We find a place for our mats on the floor and settle in. Our instructor and guide, Gary Anandasagar, begins to speak and paints a picture of what our 10-day transformational journey will encompass and the promise of change that the practice will deliver. Before I can wipe the sleep from my eyes, Gary encourages us to settle into the moment and we begin our 3-hour practice of poses, breath work, meditations, opening chakras and connecting with the Universe.

Throughout the class we push our bodies beyond our preconceived limits, let go of fears and relax into deep poses, breathe life into our tired cells, and meditate on Sanskrit as we create loving space in our Chakras.

Time passes quickly and the morning sun begins to rise filling the room with natural light, revealing trees outside the windows. As the music fades at the end of our practice, we are all in the same state of self-motivated fatigue and internal calm. The students move into a seated circle and openly share the affects the practice had on them. I realized that somewhere between the Plough position and practicing the Breath of Fire, I let go of a lot of negative feelings that were stuck somewhere deep inside me. I rise from my mat enthralled by what I experienced, excited about tomorrow’s practice, and anxious about the early start time. The very idea of a 5:00 AM yoga practice is still an unnatural notion to me. Now if I can only find a cup of coffee to satiate my incredible yoga-generated thirst.

Polly Meyer

Polly is fitness enthusiast and resides in the Twin Cities. She has four children and is a Media Talent and Communications Consultant at Image On Camera.

About PollyMeyer

I studied everything about being on-camera to promote myself as a successful on-camera Commercial Talent, TV Host, and Presenter. I studied with top experts in the media. I further developed these on-camera skills as a Video Producer coaching and directing business professionals on how to make a connection with the camera, and to come across the lens as Confident, Knowledgeable, and Likable. I developed soundbites and message content for corporate videos and presentations. I became an expert in media training. My passion is showing my clients and students how develop their ON-CAMERA Media skills STRATEGICALLY to GET RESULTS! I created IMAGE ON CAMERA, a boutique media training partnership. We direct you on camera in our Minneapolis studio. We walk you through from start to finish. We coach you in developing a dynamic on-camera presence, help you get clear on your message, rehearse your soundbites, structure your videos, plan your media strategy, and rehearse interview techniques. Everything is filmed so you'll quickly get instant replay and feedback. We have a full service video production studio and can film and edit your videos for you! If you're wanting to shoot your own videos, we can train you in the art of Social Media Prep. CONNECT WITH ME IF... ✓ You're a business owner or entrepreneur and would like to feel MORE CONFIDENT, MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE, and MORE DYNAMIC in front of the camera and when giving presentations. ✓ You're looking for a media trainer for your organization or association, a workshop or a keynote speaker for your conference. ✓ You're wanting a coach to walk with you from start to finish. ✓ You offer professional services (i.e. coach, consultant, lawyer, accountant, financial services etc.) & want to be known as the LEADING AUTHORITY in your community. We can show you how to be seen as this authority using video. Contact me for a custom solution to all of your ON-CAMERA, MEDIA, and VIDEO PRODUCTION needs: PollyMeyer@ImageOnCamera.com
This entry was posted in Heart Chakra, polly meyer, Transformational Yoga, Yellow Barn, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

