Grounding Thoughts

It’s wonderful to be grounded in the spirit and the body, feeling secure, stable and present. When I’m grounded, I’m not affected by the swinging moods of my mind, nor fearful of time, or harmed so deeply by loss. When I’m ungrounded, I feel off balance, scattered, disconnected, and emotional. I hate these days. What’s worse is that on these shaky days, I can’t seem to control my groundedness. Being grounded is like an act of grace. Some days it’s there and some days it’s not. But why does it seem that some people are naturally grounded while others seem to be disconnected much of the time? Can becoming grounded be practiced? Perhaps we can decide to be grounded – to affirm it in the morning before we even get out of bed. It could be an affirmation of the power inside us. Conceivably, just knowing we’re meant to be grounded increases the presence within us and demonstrates our willingness to relinquish the petty and negative preoccupations that stand in its ways.

That all sounds good, but there are days when these affirmations don’t work for me. There are days when something bad or unpleasant happens, such as an argument with my loved one or the realization that I can’t cover the bills, which steals away any chance of a peaceful heart. I want to feel solid even when circumstances are chaotic. This doesn’t mean that I want to be prosaic in my feelings, but I don’t want to be crippled by what I’m feeling either. When a part of my life is unbalanced, it has a way of tipping the scales of the other parts of my life; and by some cosmic force, my children and my sweetheart start to tip with me.

I want my mind, body, and soul to have a more solid energy connection with the earth. And this is what I’m working on as I pursue a fuller and deeper life as a woman. I once read that the roots of an oak tree are as deep as the oak tree is high. It takes a hurricane, tornado, or a bulldozer to uproot those suckers. They’re deeply grounded roots. I want these kind of roots. Oak tree roots.

I feel this connectedness to the earth when I walk out in nature, matching the rootedness of the trees, feeling my feet connect with the earth. I ground through the bottom of my feet and fill my lungs with air. Being in Minnesota, it’s usually cold air.

I recently read a piece by author, Gini Grey about how she grounds herself, leaving her being more present, relaxed and stable in her mind and body. Grey tells her readers to imagine an energetic grounding cord, invisible to the naked eye, connecting at the base of the spine, flowing and as wide as your hips, reaching all the way down to the center of the earth. In doing so, we should feel grounded and connected. I used this technique during my three auditions today. I could feel the solidness inside me during two of the auditions, but it didn’t quite work during the third attempt. It flickered. I have this light bulb in my closet that flickers. It tries really hard to turn on and stay on, but it keeps going on and off as it buzzes with electricity. That’s how it felt during the last audition. I just couldn’t fully connect the buzzing grounding cord. I think I need more practice.

For now, all I can say for certain is that I have much to learn. I’m ending my day considering what I really need to be content. With contentment comes balance and grounding. Tomorrow is a new day and with it comes new lessons.

About PollyMeyer

I studied everything about being on-camera to promote myself as a successful on-camera Commercial Talent, TV Host, and Presenter. I studied with top experts in the media. I further developed these on-camera skills as a Video Producer coaching and directing business professionals on how to make a connection with the camera, and to come across the lens as Confident, Knowledgeable, and Likable. I developed soundbites and message content for corporate videos and presentations. I became an expert in media training. My passion is showing my clients and students how develop their ON-CAMERA Media skills STRATEGICALLY to GET RESULTS! I created IMAGE ON CAMERA, a boutique media training partnership. We direct you on camera in our Minneapolis studio. We walk you through from start to finish. We coach you in developing a dynamic on-camera presence, help you get clear on your message, rehearse your soundbites, structure your videos, plan your media strategy, and rehearse interview techniques. Everything is filmed so you'll quickly get instant replay and feedback. We have a full service video production studio and can film and edit your videos for you! If you're wanting to shoot your own videos, we can train you in the art of Social Media Prep. CONNECT WITH ME IF... ✓ You're a business owner or entrepreneur and would like to feel MORE CONFIDENT, MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE, and MORE DYNAMIC in front of the camera and when giving presentations. ✓ You're looking for a media trainer for your organization or association, a workshop or a keynote speaker for your conference. ✓ You're wanting a coach to walk with you from start to finish. ✓ You offer professional services (i.e. coach, consultant, lawyer, accountant, financial services etc.) & want to be known as the LEADING AUTHORITY in your community. We can show you how to be seen as this authority using video. Contact me for a custom solution to all of your ON-CAMERA, MEDIA, and VIDEO PRODUCTION needs: PollyMeyer@ImageOnCamera.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

